

## **Essex Society for Family History**

We are a member of the Federation of Family History Societies Registered Charity No 290552

www.esfh.org.uk

## Minutes of the Annual General Meeting Conducted both online and at Galleywood Heritage Centre on Saturday, 15 October 2022

**Present** Lord Petre, President; Ann Turner, Ann Church and Yvonne Tunstill, Vice Presidents; Elizabeth Cox, Chairman; John Young, Vice Chairman; Meryl Rawlings, Secretary; Tanya Sewell, Treasurer; Executive Committee members and members online and at Galleywood Heritage Centre

- 1. **Welcome:** The Chairman welcomed all those present and then handed over to Lord Petre to conduct the meeting.
- 2. **Apologies for Absence** were received from Toni Neobard, Denise Somers, Angela Tugg and Hazel Notley
- 3. **Minutes of the AGM held on 16 October 2021:** these were approved by both a vote in the hall and an online poll and signed as a correct record.
- 4. Matters Arising from the Minutes: None.
- 5. **President and Vice-Presidents:** Lord Petre announced that it had been agreed by the Executive Committee as follows: President, Lord Petre; Vice Presidents, Ann Church, Ann Turner and Yvonne Tunstill. The appointments were ratified by the members.
- 6. **Chairman's Annual Report on behalf of the Trustees:** Elizabeth Cox gave the report, a full copy of which is attached to these Minutes and will also appear in the Essex Family Historian and on the Society's website.
- 7. **Financial Report by the Treasurer:** Tanya Sewell said that the Annual Accounts to 31 March 2022 had been approved by the Executive Committee and signed by the Chair and our Examiner and these were available on the Society's website. The usual, shortened version of the Accounts was displayed during the meeting. A copy of the report is attached to these Minutes.

Following the treasurer's report and in answer to various questions Tanya Sewell confirmed:

- the Society's net assets including investments is £114,046.
- for the last five years there had been an excess of income over expenditure but looking back to 2006 there had been 9 years when the Society ran at a deficit.
- that the Society is currently in a good financial position going forward.
- the aims and values of the Society, as set out in the Charity Website, will be upheld.

Tanya Sewell then formally proposed adoption of the accounts for the year ended 31 March 2022 this was approved. This was seconded by Andrea Hewitt and agreed nem.con. by a vote in the hall and an online poll

Tanya Sewell then proposed that Peter Kittle of Chelmer Company Services, who has acted as our Examiner for the past few years, continue as our Examiner, this was seconded by Colleen Devenish and agreed nem.con. by a vote in the hall and an online poll

8. Election of Officers/Holding Trustees: Andrea Hewitt, Chairman; John Young, Vice-Chairman; Tanya Sewell, Treasurer and Meryl Rawlings, Secretary, have been nominated. As requested by the membership in the Hall, votes were taken to affirm these appointments individually. The Chairman, Treasurer and Secretary were all ratified, but the Vice Chairman only received a total of 22 votes of the 53 available. Following considerable discussion regarding the Vice Chairman position and review of the Constitution, the Meeting was advised that this vote was only a confirmation process as where there is only a single nomination for a post no further action is necessary and the position will be declared as filled. Whilst the election stands, it is always possible to call an emergency General Meeting to put forward an alternative candidate and this was referred to Executive Committee for discussion.

## 9. Election of Executive Committee

The following had been nominated and were elected en bloc: Pauline Adlem, Colleen Devenish, Barbara Harpin, Toni Neobard, Mary Rix, Trevor Rix, Janice Sharpe, Denise Somers and Paul Stirland.

A further nomination was received from the floor:

David Cooper was nominated by Melody Hurst and seconded by Linda Medcalf.

He was duly elected.

The following would serve as ex-officio members of the Executive Committee Gill Peregrine, Heather Feather and Elizabeth Cox.

Lord Petre then declared the meeting formally closed at 2.30 p.m.

Signed:	President
Dated:	