Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held at Galleywood Heritage Centre on Saturday 15 September 2018

Present: The Lord Petre, President; Ann Turner, Ann Church, Fred Feather, Vice-Presidents; Paul Stirland, Acting Chairman; Meryl Rawlings, Secretary; Ron Knights, Treasurer; Executive Committee members and members.

- 1. **Welcome:** The Acting Chairman welcomed all those present. Paul Stirland then handed over to Lord Petre to conduct the meeting.
- 2. **Apologies for Absence:** Received from Elizabeth Cox, David Eniffer, Margaret Baker, Ann and Howard Wigmore.
- 3. **Minutes of the AGM held on 16 September 2017:** These were signed as a correct record.
- 4. Matters Arising from the Minutes: None.
- 5. **President and Vice-Presidents:** The Executive Committee had agreed that for the coming year Lord Petre should continue as President of the Society and Ann Turner, Ann Church and Fred Feather as Vice-Presidents. This was accepted by the meeting.
- 6. **Chairman's Annual Report on behalf of the Trustees:** Paul Stirland presented the report, a full copy of which is attached to these Minutes and will also appear in The Journal and on the Society's website.
- 7. **Financial Report by the Treasurer:** Ron Knights presented the Annual Accounts to 31 March 2018. These were available on the Society's website and a shortened version had, as usual, been sent to members with the journal. A full copy could be obtained from him if requested. A full copy of the Report is attached to these Minutes.

There were no questions, and Ron Knights then formally proposed adoption of the Accounts to 31 March 2018. This was seconded by David Blackwood and agreed nem. con.

8. Election of Officers/Holding Trustees: The following had been duly nominated and seconded and were elected en bloc

Chairman: Paul Stirland; Secretary: Meryl Rawlings; Treasurer: Ron Knights.

9. Election of Executive Committee: The following, having been duly nominated and seconded, were then elected en bloc

Colleen Devenish, Heather Feather, Colin Smith, John Young

Further nominations were invited from the floor:

Andrea Hewitt was nominated by John Young and seconded by Joan Potts

David Cooper was nominated by Gill Peregrine and seconded by Colleen Devenish

Ray Poole was nominated by Heather Feather and seconded by Pauline Adlem

They were duly elected.

Finally, **John Young** was nominated as Vice Chairman by Barbara Harpin and seconded by Eric Probert and duly elected.

The following Branch Chairmen have been elected by their branches and will serve ex-officio

North-East Essex: **Pauline Adlem;** West Essex: **Elizabeth Cox;** North-West Essex: **Janice Sharpe;**South-East Essex: **Eric Jude**

10 Any Other Relevant Business: None

Lord Petre then declared the meeting formally closed at 2 pm.